Resume Seeks Target

New Archer (by VRES on DeviantArt.com)My husband’s work has been cut back for the third time in 4 months. In November it was $200 a month. Not happy but not a problem. Then in December it was nearly $500. Yikes. That’s $700 reduction in two months. We’ve been very tight. Since I’ve not been able to find work for two years, we’re kinda been barebones living. Nothing but mortgage, bills, utils, gas, food, and stuff our kids need. I haven’t bought clothes for myself for years and years.

So yesterday he calls me and told me we’re in trouble. He’s losing a large part of his work now and we’re not going to make it without a second income. He has to look and I have to look. (I’ve been looking!) Cutting back isn’t going to help – there’s not enough left to cut back to compensate for the loss.

However, we can save about $100 a month on cable tv. So, it’s going. 😦 We’re not going to have any tv. I’ve never been without tv in my entire life. I’m not a tv lover or anything. It’s a tool that I use for a variety of things. I will miss it. My husband and I love to watch Westerns together, and my son and I relax with some cartoons. We’ll not have these things until I don’t know when.

It’s hard when you have to cut all the things you enjoy out of your life when there’s no money. For me, I haven’t been shopping in years. No shopping. No expensive health foods+supplements – you can only buy what you must have if you get ill. No trips. No books. No electronics. We’ve got stuff to be repaired and can’t do it. Now no tv. Slowly all the enjoyable things have slipped away from me. Forget about going for a cup of Starbucks coffee – all that stuff dropped long ago.

The scary thing is…when you’re cutting your tv due to the fact that you have to because it’s the last thing to go that’s not absolutely necessary…it makes me wonder if it’s going to be enough (of a savings) and what will happen if we can’t find work? We have nothing left to cut. We could sell our truck, but that leaves my son and I without reliable transportation. Are we going to go down further than where we are now? When you think it’s rock bottom it’s not. Not in this economy. You can go deeper, further.

We pray daily for not only us, but the others all over the US and the world who are enduring much financial difficulties due to this state of affairs. I wish everyone ease in their difficulties, and may we be guided by frugality and practicality so that we can not only get through these issues, but never find ourselves burdened financially again.

So, I job hunt. Again and again. My bow is my computer, my arrow is my resume. One day I have to come back with meat!

5 thoughts on “Resume Seeks Target

  1. Lisa, I have been in your shoes. It can be a time of great worry and yet it can be a time of self-discovery. The best thing that John and I learned was to hold on to each other and to communicate really really well. He blew up at me one day when I asked him if he’d made any job search phone calls. It was a low moment for both of us, but he apologized and learned to believe more in his capability and to share each day with me. You both can do that with each other. Beth

    • Thanks Beth for your positive reply. Yeah we also had an argument the other day – it’s the stress of the whole thing, otherwise it wouldn’t have happened. You got an apology, I did not! 😦 Kind of…he came in the house and told me Happy Valentine’s Day…he never does that. Not the Valentine’s Day celebrating kind of guy. I don’t like it but accept it. So that was surprising. haha He does many many other things that make up for that, though.

      Hope you’ve been well. It’s feeling almost like spring here! *checks ground for flowers popping up* <– lol anxious

  2. Good luck finding a job. I wish you and your family well. As an alternative to cable, have you thought about a subscription to Netflix or something? It might a cheaper alternative.

    • Hey niquae, yes we’re considering Netflix 🙂 We’ve not made the step in cutting off cable yet (other than getting pricing on just Internet services) but we’ll undoubtedly be cutting the cord as soon as we can. It’s a little painful and we don’t want to do it LOL But if we have Netflix that might help ease the pain for awhile.

      • Good luck with everything.

        My father too had considered cutting cable but he decided not to. He said it was cheaper with the current plan (we have Cablevision’s 3-in-1 package with Phone, Cable, and Internet). I was a bit disappointed because I wanted to switch to Netflix. 😀

Leave a Reply

