I’m a Winner

The New BlackBerry PlayBook

Yesterday I found out I won one of 10 new BlackBerry PlayBooks from the RIM folks:

and the other 5:

We had to write up to 10 haiku, via Twitter, to @BlackBerry with a #PlayBookHaiku hashtag in the tweet. The haiku had to follow the 5-7-5- rule, and have either BlackBerry or PlayBook in the poem.

I love writing haiku so it was really a fun and quick little contest for me, and I knew I had a good chance of winning one of the PlayBooks. I realized I had an even better chance when I looked at PAGES of #PlayBookHaiku entries. Either they didn’t follow the 5-7-5 rule (what the heck is a haiku?!), their entries were kind of stupid: “Hey I wanna win a Blackberry”, or they wrote haiku without the word BlackBerry or PlayBook in the poem. Sometimes these contests are all about following the rules.

The BlackBerry folks sent me a DM saying they’ll post the winning entries on their blog sometime next week. I can’t wait to see which of mine was picked, and to read the other folks’ winning entries.

Here are all 10 of mine. I’ll edit this post next week and mark the entry that was the winning one. Don’t steal them for your entries for the next #PlayBookHaiku contest – make up your own original ones, ok? And don’t laugh too hard – some are so silly.

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Sit back and relax
Under the pink sakura
enjoy your PlayBook

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

I open the box –
“New toy” excitement brimming!
PlayBook from RIM.

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

BlackBerry PlayBook
Winter, spring, summer and fall
Four seasons for love.           <——-If anyone has watched Avatar: The Last Airbender – you’ll know the “Four Seasons” song.

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Pink, gently floating
A cherry blossom petal
Lands on my PlayBook

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Frog jumps into pond
A splash of water!
Protect my PlayBook      <— reminiscent of Basho’s famous frog jumping into pond haiku

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

You call me a geek
As I hold my new PlayBook.
Call me what you want.

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

News. Mail. Games. Books. Apps.
It all comes together now.
My life. My PlayBook. <<– Looks like this one was the winner; they mentioned they loved it in the Congrats letter they sent with the PlayBook

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Relaxing morning –
French pastry, a cup of tea
and the new PlayBook

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Hand-cradled PlayBook,
Oh BlackBerry BlackBerry
How I do love thee.

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

Sleek black PlayBook
the newest BlackBerry crack
should be wearing shades

╰⊰⊹✿ ✿⊹⊱╮

One thought on “I’m a Winner

  1. It says “Blackberry related”. It does not say that the word Blackberry or Playbook must be in your poem. Many horrible haikus on twitter.

    “To enter, write a fun BlackBerry® related haiku poem and send a tweet to @BlackBerry from your Twitter account”

    I like this one the best.

    News. Mail. Games. Books. Apps.
    It all comes together now.
    My life. My PlayBook.

    Happy Haikuing 🙂

Leave a Reply

